You can now send yourself a message and undo an accidental deletion in WhatsApp

For many phone owners, the person they send the most messages to is themselves. No, it has nothing to do with selfish behavior and everything to do with using common sense. Sometimes when you need to jot down a note, you find yourself without a pen or paper. While an app like Google Keep (Android, iOS) is ideal for these situations, some prefer to send a message to themselves.

You can now take notes or save content online by sending each other messages using WhatsApp

But if WhatsApp is your preferred messaging app, this cannot be done unless the user opens a group chat and includes himself as one of the group members, and then sends a message to this group. Who wants to go through all that just to remember that the dog walker is on vacation or to save a story or video they just saw online? The Meta-owned app fixed this by spreading an update that allows WhatsApp subscribers to send messages to themselves.

First noted by BGR, a WhatsApp user can now select himself as the only recipient of a message that he will send through the application. After you type the message you want to send yourself, the app displays a notification that the message you send is protected by end-to-end encryption. Unless you have multiple personalities, this doesn’t seem to matter. But it does mean that WhatsApp or anyone other than you cannot read or listen to the message.
Meta had this feature beta tested by iPhone users and is now rolling it out to all users. It has been available on Android and works on this writer’s Pixel 6 Pro running Android 13 QPR2 Beta 2.1.

WhatsApp has added more than just the ability to send messages to yourself. After the update, you can undo the “Delete for me” function to recover a message that you accidentally deleted from your WhatsApp account. To see how this works, send yourself a test message (which you can do now) and long press on the test message. Tap on the trash can icon at the top of the screen and you will see a popup window. Select Delete for me and a bar will appear at the bottom of the screen that says “Deleted message for me” with the word UNDO on the right side of the bar. Touch to undo the deletion and the message will return.

How to block others from knowing when you are online

Now you can also control who can see when you’re online. From the WhatsApp app, tap on the three-dot menu icon at the top right of the screen and go to Settings > Privacy > last seen and online. You can touch No one in the top quarter of the screen so that no one can see when you were last on WhatsApp. Below you can choose who can see when you are online. The options are All and Same as last seen. Select the last option and if you have chosen Nobody as last seen, nobody will be able to see if you are online.

When you are about to send a message to one of your WhatsApp contacts, the last time they were seen in the app will be displayed below that person’s name. So if you are a private person, you may want to follow the instructions in the previous paragraph so that no one knows when you were last on WhatsApp and if you are now. On the other hand, you may want to let your contacts know when you are available to have a conversation on the platform.

Another new feature will allow users to search for a previous chat by the date it took place. This helps if you can’t find a specific chat but you know the date it happened.
Share Me On